Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

2016-2017 Season Repertoire Announcement

Recent News

2016-2017 Season Repertoire Announcement


In its 52nd season, AYPO will provide a challenging and exciting musical experience for all of the musicians in our five orchestras. Highlights from the 2016-2017 season repertoire include:


AYP’s first concert of the season will feature Beethoven’s First Symphony as well as both of Ravel’s Suites from Daphnis and Chloe. The second concert will feature an all-American program in honor of the presidential inaguration month with Fanfare by Makris, Puts Violin Concerto, and the Symphonic Dances from Leonard Bernstein’s West Side Story. The April concert will take two looks at the Romeo and Juliet story, with Tchaikovsky's "Romeo and Juliet" and selections from Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet. Musicians will also perform Rimsky-Korsakov’s dazzling symphonic suite Scheherazade. In June, AYP will present the DC-area premiere of Takashi Yoshimatsu’s Cyberbird, a concerto for saxophone, piano, and percussion and Berlioz’s epic Symphonie Fantastique.


AYSO will open the season with Dvorak’s festive Carnival Overture, Khachaturian’s Adagio from Spartacus, and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol. The next concert will feature Beethoven’s “Leonore” Overture No. 3 and Liszt’s Les Preludes alongside Sibelius’s stirring Scandinavian tone poem Finlandia. The final concert of the season will highlight masterworks, including Verdi’s overture to La forza del destino and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4.


AYCO will perform both full orchestral works as well as string only pieces in the 16-17 season. Highlights from the season’s repertoire include Copland’s Saturday Night Waltz from Rodeo, Rossini’s overture to La Cenerentola, Beethoven’s Prometheus Overture, Bruch’s Kol Nidrei and excerpts from Bizet’s L’Arlésienne Suites. Additional work performed during the season will include Mozart’s Divertimento (K.136), Hovhaness’s Psalm and Fugue Op. 40a, and Gabrielli’s Canzona for Double String Orchestra.


AYSE and AYDO will perform three concerts exploring the theme “Bach to the Future”. The first cncert will feature arrangements for string orchestras of several popular works by Johann Sebastian Bach. The second concert of the season will be a tour of classical music from the time of J.S. Bach leading all the way to more contemporary work. Repertoire for this concert will include arrangements of pieces composed by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms and Bartók. The final concert of the season will feature work that looks to the future, and will include favorites from Holst’s The Planets alongside music from Star Wars, Back to the Future, and others!